

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 12/06/11

CONTACT: Andrew Younger +1.312.673.5469 ayounger@credentialingexcellence.org

## ICE ANNOUNCES 2012 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

CARY LIST ANNOUNCED AS PRESIDENT

WASHINGTON, DC – The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) is pleased to announce Cary List, CA, CFP as board president for the 2012 term. Mr. List is President and CEO of Financial Planning Standards Council (FPSC).

"As a long-standing member of ICE, I am proud to take the helm as president and to further contribute to this organization's commitment to excellence in the credentialing sphere," List said. "ICE's members are diverse in terms of the professions represented, yet each of us is committed to advancing standards for the benefit of our respective stakeholders. I am looking forward to the year ahead and working together to advance our work."

Mr. List has been involved with FPSC since 1998 – first as a volunteer member of the inaugural Panel of Examiners and then assuming staff positions as Vice President of Standards and Certification, COO and CEO. In 2005, he was instrumental in the development of the international competency profile, now used by over 135,000 CFP professionals around the world. He went on to affirm FPSC's reputation as an international leader in certification through ISO 17024 accreditation, one of only five organizations in Canada to receive this accreditation. List was recently honored as one of the inaugural recipients of the FELLOW OF FPSC ©distinction for his years of commitment and dedication to establish CFP certification as the standard for financial planning.

Beginning in 2007 and lasting through 2012, Mr. List served on the ICE Board of Directors, gaining valuable leadership skills and insight to the credentialing industry. In his dedication to credentialing, he has helped develop a number of ICE programs and resources, and he is recognized as a respected leader in the field.

Other officers of the 2012 ICE Board of Directors include: President-Elect Denise Fandel, CAE (National Athletic Trainers Association Board of Certification, Inc.); Secretary/Treasurer Ronald G. Havlick (Operating Engineers Certification Program); and Sustaining Member Linda Waters, PhD (Prometric). Elected board members include: Joan Campbell, CAE (American Board of Multiple Specialties in Podiatry); and Jan Wyatt, PhD, RN, NP-C (Pediatric Nursing Certification Board, Inc.). The Public Member is Rebecca LeBuhn, MA (Citizen Advocacy Center) and Ex Officio Member is Denise Roosendaal, CAE (Institute for Credentialing Excellence). Paul Grace, MS, CAE has been appointed to serve the remainder of Melissa Murer Corrigan's term beginning in December 2011 and ending in November 2012.

"I am truly eager to work with this year's ICE Board of Directors," said ICE Executive Director Denise Roosendaal, CAE. "Each board member has demonstrated an exceptional level of experience, dedication, and a vision for where the credentialing industry can be. Their leadership will continue and drive the high quality services that ICE provides to the credentialing community."

In addition to the ICE Board of Directors, the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) announced the appointment of new officers and members to the Commission: Chair Donald Balasa, JD, MBA (American Association of Medical Assistants); Co-Chair Chad Buckendahl, PhD (Alpine Testing Solutions, Inc.); Elected Commissioners Michael Breining, JD (Breining Institute); Ron Kruzel, CST, MA (National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting); and Darlene Leuschke (Commission on Para-optometric Certification of the American Optometric Association). NCCA Psychometric Appointees include Sandra Neustel, PhD (National Board of Examiners in Optometry); Timothy J. Muckle, PhD (National Board on Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists); and Brian Bontempo, PhD (Mountain Measurement). General Counsel Member is Philip O'Neill (Jacobson Holman PLLC).

ICE would like to recognize the service and leadership of all outgoing board members including Jim Hogan, PhD (ACT); and Linda Lysoby, MS, MCHES, CAE (National Commission for Health Education Credentialing). The NCCA Commissioners would also like to recognize and honor all exiting commissioners for their continuous dedication and hard work. They include Ida Darragh, CPM (North American Registry of Midwives); Judy Ahn-Ewing, R.EEG/EPT, CNIM, (ABRET Board of Directors); Catherine Dower, JD (UCSF Center for the Health Professions); Karen Nason, CAE (Rehabilitation Nursing Certification Board); Tom O'Neill, PhD (American Board of Family Medicine); and Robert Oshel, PhD (Retired).

###

**About the Institute for Credentialing Excellence and the National Commission for Certifying Agencies** Established in 1977, the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) (formerly the National Organization for Competency Assurance) is the leading international membership organization representing the credentialing community. ICE fulfills its mission through the delivery of education and training programs, in setting quality standards for credentialing, and by providing accreditation services through its accreditation division, the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). The ICE membership is composed of credentialing organizations, testing companies, and individual professional development consultants. ICE and NCCA are based in Washington, DC. For further information, please visit www.credentialingexcellence.org.